Fun Friday Post

I’ve had a pretty bad cold this last week; however, these are some of the things that made me smile through the tissues and cold medicine:

1. The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie:

The_Lone_Ranger_and_Tonto_Fistfight_in_Heaven

I picked up this book of short stories from the library this week and I’m loving it. These stories are real, honest, and entertaining. I’m about halfway through the book now, and so far my favorite stories have been “Because My Father Always Said He Was the Only Indian Who Saw Jimi Hendrix Play ‘The Star-Spangled Banner’ at Woodstock” (of course I picked the longest title :)) and “This is What it Means to Say Phoenix, Arizona.” I highly recommend this book!

2. A beautiful wedding at Louland Falls:

utah_wedding1

I got to attend the friend and coworker’s wedding at this place on Wednesday. Everything was stunning, and the view was totally worth all the frustration and U-turns it took to get there. I

3. Saline nasal spray:

Like I said, I’ve been sick this week. Consequently, I’ve been incredibly stuffed up. I just bought some saline nasal spray yesterday, and it is AMAZING! It instantly unstuffs my nose. As someone who has been woken several times every night this week by her own mouth breathing, I very much appreciate this.

4. Cards from my family:

I got a little package from my sister, brother, and sister-in-law this week. It was very nice and definitely lifted my spirits, especially their notes: my sister-in-law and sister’s full of puns, my brothers full of the words he’s learning from his word-a-day calendar. I love them and miss them.

5. Yoga:

I found this video last night, when my sickness was at its worst

It was really gentle but also helped to clear my sinuses. I felt significantly better after completing this practice!

I’m going to be spending most of my weekend laying down and trying to heal my body, but I still plan on doing some fun things. I hope you all have had a great week and have a great weekend. Stay healthy!

Leave a Reply

